Nevada is different from many other states in regards to divorce laws. Parties may divorce in Nevada if either of the spouses have lived here for at least six weeks. If the case is uncontested then the process can be completed within a few weeks of filing the initial documents.
Nevada’s residency requirement for divorce is only six weeks
Many states in the U.S. require a “waiting period” of six months or even a year before one may file for divorce. Nevada is a “no fault divorce” state with a residency requirement of only six weeks. This means that you may file to dissolve your marriage if either you or your spouse has resided in Nevada for the last six weeks. Also, as Nevada does not require fault you may also file for divorce simply because your spouse and yourself are incompatible. It is not necessary to show which party is to blame in the marriage. Nevada’s Supreme Court has recognized that our state’s divorce laws are the most lenient in the Country.
An uncontested Nevada divorce can be completed within 1-2 weeks
Nevada has an uncontested divorce process that is different from most other states in the U.S. If you and your spouse agree on all aspects of the case then your divorce can typically be completed within 1-2 weeks of filing the initial documents. The uncontested process typically does not require a Court appearance and more just a matter of filing the correct paperwork with the Court. Our office is able to handle most uncontested divorces for a flat fee plus Court costs.
If you wish to obtain a Nevada divorce then contact our office today.